CHIEF by Kris Michaels: Review and Giveaway

Chief (Kings of Guardian Series – Book 7)

by Kris Michaels

Release Date:  May 30 2017


Cloaked in the identity of David Xavier, a billionaire player in multiple world theaters, Mike White Cloud worked to enter the Russian Mafia’s lair, by stalking a shadowy creature named “The Concierge.” The Russian woman brokered young innocents into slavery and Mike meant to destroy her and the organization she worked for. He should have despised her for the atrocious crimes she facilitated, but too often love and hate are the flip sides of the same coin, and what Mike felt for Taty was not hate. It didn’t matter. He’d destroy the Bravata and all its associates—even if it meant part of his soul sat in prison for the rest of her life.

Driven by heartbreak, Tatyana Petrov joined the elite British M16 unit, and for eight years, wormed her way into the trust of the Bravata as she strove to identify the human filth selling those innocents to billionaires like David Xavier. She’d found it easy to loathe the wealthy men who bought her “toys”—until David. For reasons that she wouldn’t acknowledge, she wanted to protect this one man from the retribution rapidly approaching.

Neither knew the other’s true mission but even as mortal adversaries, they’d each given the other a part of their soul and now only devastation and sorrow waited.




I have been really enjoying this series so far and I have been looking forward to Chief’s story for quite a while now, so I couldn’t wait to dive into his book!  For those of you who are unfamiliar with the Kings of Guardian series, here’s a quick run down: Guardian is the biggest and best private security firm in the world, and it is run by various members of the King family for a mysterious recluse businessman. Well, his actual identity is revealed to the reader but he is an unknown to the world at large. In any case, the King children and their various former military team members have been focused on trying to bring down a Russian crime syndicate called the Bravata before they are taken out, and that brings us to Chief’s book.

Mike White Cloud has no blood relations left, and the Kings have become his family instead. When he is given the opportunity to finally bring down the Bravata by going deep undercover to become recluse billionaire David Xavier, he willingly takes it on in the hopes that he can end the war against his family without anyone else getting hurt even if it costs him his own life in the process. For one year, he is immersed in becoming someone else and he has finally reached the point he has been working toward: contact with the Bravata under the guise of purchasing some of their human merchandise to start the dominoes falling toward eliminating them once and for all. He just doesn’t plan on his Bravata contact sparking his interest in a way that no other woman has in well over 5 years.

Tatyana is much more than she appears on the surface. She conducts trade for the Russians, but she has a singular end game in mind: take them down and finally avenge her sister’s death at their hands.  David Xavier is an enigma she must figure out before he derails her plans- or steals her heart. This man can go from a cold, calculating criminal in one minute to a generous benefactor of those in need in the next and then again to a sensual creative lover in the next moment. His intent to do business with the Bravata does not fit in with the rest of his personality at all and she desperately seeks out his motives in the hopes her gut is right so that she won’t have to take him down in the end.

Taty has no idea that David/ Mike is undercover but she worms his way into his heart much to his consternation. He is certain that she is a coldhearted criminal that he will have to take down, and that weighs on both his conscience and his heart more and more each day. The angst level continually ramps up as he has no idea she is actually MI6 (as noted in the blurb) and they both struggle with their conscience and hearts fighting against the need to eliminate the evil and threat that is the Bravata.

Their love story was well written and kept me turning the pages as I waited to see how it all played out even as they pulled on my heartstrings a bit. I couldn’t help but wonder: Mike became David and lived his life for the past year, so how will he readjust to his old life- if he makes it out alive? And when the heck would the truth about Taty come out?

There were certainly a few surprises along the way, and all in all I really enjoyed this story! Many familiar faces from previous stories were a part of this book as the Kings worked on taking down the Bravata from other angles as a distraction to allow Chief to deliver the knockout punch they never saw coming. Although Chief can be read as a standalone, I do recommend reading at least the first book in the series to understand the background of the family and Guardian before diving into this one. It looks like King sister Jewell’s story is up next, and I can’t wait to see what happens between the spitfire tech guru and her assigned Guardian bodyguard Zane!


Kris Michaels is the alter ego of a happily married wife and mother who loves to write erotic romance with a twist of military flavor.

A chance meeting and immediate friendship with an established author propelled Kris into a world where her lifelong fantasy of publishing romance novels came true! Her vivid imagination and erotic fantasies evolved into the Kings of Guardian Series.

Kris believes in meeting life head on… as long as there is an ample supply of coffee, whiskey and wine! She believes love makes this crazy life worthwhile.

When she isn’t writing Kris enjoys a busy life with her husband, the cop, and her two wonderful sons.


Find Kris here:

Facebook   Twitter     Pinterest     Instagram  

               AuthorPage     Bookbub  Email  Website    Amazon



Kings of Guardian Series

1.    Jacob
2.    Joseph
3.    Adam
4.    Jason
5.    Jared
6.    Jasmine
7.    Chief

Everlight Series (Co-written with Patricia A. Knight)

1.    An Evidence of Magic
2.    An Incident of Magic
Standalone Books

1.  A Heart’s Desire